top of page
Symphony for Orchestra 11 x 17 Score Cover.jpg

Symphony in C minor

I. Allegro non troppo
II. Andante sostenuto
III. Menuetto

IV. Vivace

Difficulty: Advanced
Duration: approx. mm:ss

Composed in 2023


Program Notes

Symphony in C minor  was inspired by my love for romantic classical music.  Comprised of four movements, this symphony takes the listener through a remarkable journey filled with emotions.

Movement I, Allegro non troppo, follows a sonata-allegro form containing an exposition, development, and recapitulation.  Throughout the exposition's first theme, fear, rage, anger, and trepidation are internalized before finding a glimmer of victory and happiness in the second theme.  In the development section, multiple thematic fragments are used, creating a sense of uncertainty.  A canon of the first theme is stated in the lower voices before moving on to the recapitulation.  In the final section of the recapitulation, the second theme is now displayed in the same key as the first theme (c minor) resulting in a very dark and eerie feeling.

Movement II, Andante sostenuto, is written in ternary form.

Movement III, Menuetto, is a light-hearted minuet and trio.

Movement IV,  Vivace, is written in rondo form.

Symphony in C minor will be premiered on Friday, March 15th by the Bay Area Symphony Orchestra.


Flute 1-2



Bb Clarinet 1-2


Horn 1-4

Bb Trumpet 1-3

Trombone 1-3



Violin I

Violin II



Double Bass

bottom of page