top of page

Allegro con Brio

from Dvorak's "Symphony No. 8"

Difficulty: Advanced
Duration: approx. 9:22

Transcribed in 2013

Premiered on April 9, 2014, by the Stony Brook University Wind Ensemble

Program Notes

    Antonin Dvorak (1841-1904) wrote nine symphonies over thirty years. His Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88, B. 163 was written in 1889. The first movement, "Allegro con brio", opens with a theme in G minor, which is quickly interrupted by the flute and various rhythmic motifs played by other instruments. The modality of this movement shifts several times between minor and major, before an energetic coda end this movement. The original orchestration is 2 flutes (2nd flute also plays the piccolo part), 2 oboes, 2 clarinets in A, 2 bassoons, 4 horns in F, 2 trumpets in F, 2 tenor trombones, bass trombone, tuba, timpani, 2 violins, viola, cello, and double bass. This arrangement uses piccolo, flute, oboe, bassoon, 3 clarinets in Bb, bass clarinet, 2 alto saxophones, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, 3 trumpets in Bb, 4 horns in F, 3 trombones, euphonium, tuba, timpani, bells, and marimba.



     Allegro con Brio was premiered by the Stony Brook University Wind Ensemble on April 9, 2014.

From the Publisher:

    "The struggle between major and minor keys in the first movement of Dvořák's Symphony No. 8 is now brilliantly adapted for wind ensemble by Bradley S. Hartman! Bring your ensemble and audiences an important historical work that's perfect to open or close any concert!"






Bb Clarinet 1-3

Bass Clarinet

Alto Sax 1-2

Tenor Sax

Baritone Sax


Bb Trumpet 1-3

Horn 1-4

Trombone 1-3

Euphonium (T.C.)

Euphonium (B.C.)







bottom of page